Kate Ebbens new GIMA President 2024-2025

Ten years GIMA Council member, Kate Ebbens has been voted in as GIMA President for the 2024- 2025 term.

Kate Ebben GIMA President 2024-2025

The Garden Industry Manufacturer’s Association (GIMA) represents garden manufacturers and suppliers, with a UK or EU base.

At the 2024 GIMA Annual General Meeting, eighteen GIMA members voted Kate Ebbens as President, Craig Hall of Deco-Pak as Vice-President and officially welcomed two new co-opted Council members; Nigel Thompson of Sipcam and Patrick Thick of Ames UK. Mark Butler of Vitax and DLF’s Guy Jenkins, will be continuing in their honorary roles as Secretary and Treasurer, respectively.

Following her election the new GIMA President said:”I have been lucky enough to work in our incredibly supportive industry for 25 years now, and during my 11 years as a GIMA member I have benefited from some tremendous support from the association.’ She continued ‘During my time as President I hope to ensure all members understand the benefits GIMA offer and I want to encourage greater participation. I also want to help members connect with retailers, especially in the current economic climate and against the backdrop of unpredictable weather patterns. Finally, I would like to thank Jenny Douthwaite who has been an outstanding President for GIMA and who passes the association onto me in a very healthy position.”

The GIMA Treasurer, Guy Jenkins reported that the 2023 GIMA year-end accounts, showed a profit after tax and depreciation of £16k for the year. “Following our very strong post pandemic performance in 2022, we have now returned to more modest level of profit, which never the less continues to enable us to build our reserves. We have also put in place a rolling plan to invest GIMA funds in high interest medium notice accounts while leaving sufficient funds available in our current account to meet our day to day running costs.”

GIMA Council for 2024/2025

Working closely with Vicky Nuttall, GIMA Director and the team, the full GIMA Council for 2024/2025 is as follows:

  • Jenny Douthwaite, Primeur – President
  • Kate Ebbens of Capi Europe – Vice President
  • Guy Jenkins, DLF – Honorary Treasurer
  • Mark Butler, Vitax – Honorary Secretary
  • Craig Hall, Deco-Pak
  • Chris Ramsden, Hozelock
  • Dan Durston, Durston Garden Products
  • Martin Tompsett, Rollins Bulldog Tools
  • David Nicholson, Elho
  • Phil Harrison, Evergreen Garden Care.
  • Edd Cantle of Gardena
  • Simon Davison of Zest Outdoor Living
  • Patrick Thick of Ames UK (co-opted)
  • Nigel Thompson (co-opted)