New Year’s Honours List

Horticulture (and closely related) industry representations amongst those honoured in the New Year’s Honours List 2024.

John Grimshaw credit:Yorkshire Arboretum
  • Richard George Deverell – Director, Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew. For services to Botanical Science and Conservation
  • Professor Peter Michael Hollingsworth – Director of Science and Deputy Keeper, Royal Botanic Garden, Edinburgh. For services to Botanical Science
  • Dr Nicholas John Merriman – Chief Executive, The Horniman Museum and Gardens. For services to the Arts and to Heritage
  • Robert John McCormick – Security Team Leader, Hillsborough Castle and Gardens. For Public Service
  • Robin John Mercer – Managing Director, Hillmount Garden Centre. For services to Business and to the Economy in Northern Ireland
  • Dr John Michael Grimshaw – Director, Yorkshire Arboretum. For services to Tree Health and Plant
  • Professor William Cushley – Chair, Expert Committee on Pesticides. For services to the Regulation of Plant Protection Products
  • Catherine Penny – For services to Plant Heritage and to the community in North Preston, Lancashire
  • Dr Peter Simpson Jones – Lead Specialist Advisor for Peatlands, Natural Resources Wales. For services to Welsh Peatlands and to the community in Wales
  • Nicholas Boys Smith – Founder and Director, Create Streets and Chair, Office for Place. For services to Planning and Design
  • Andrew Edward Scattergood – Chief Executive Officer, The Royal Parks. For services to Heritage and to Charity
  • Zahid Hamid – Lately Member, Peak District National Park Authority. For services to National Parks
  • Dr Ruth Louise Cromie – Research Fellow, Wildfowl and Wetlands Trust. For services to Wetland and Waterbird Conservation
  • Roy Henry Dennis MBE – Wildlife Conservationist. For services to Wildlife. Forres, Moray.
  • John Neil Everitt Chief Executive Officer, National Forest Company. For services to Conservation. West Bridgford, Nottinghamshire.
  • Nicholas Andrew Hill – National Conservation Projects Manager. For services to Heritage. Market Harborough, Leicestershire.
  • Adrian David Morrow Estate Manager, Glenarm Castle and Chief Executive, Irish Grouse Conservation Trust. For voluntary services to Habitat Conservation and to the community in County Antrim.
  • Maureen Vevers – Chair of Governors, Askham Bryan College, York. For services to Further Education York, North Yorkshire.